What is a Utah CFP? -- The Utah Concealed Firearm Permit(CFP) allows the permit holder to carry their firearm concealed at any of the 31 reciprocating states (listed below). This permit currently DOES NOT allow the permit holder to carry their firearm in Maryland, but it would allow he/she to carry in most of Maryland's surrounding states and many more.
MINIMUM Requirements to Obtain a Utah CFP -- Applicant must be 21 years of age or older. Applicant must have no criminal record or recent conviction for alcohol related incidents. Applicant must be legally able to purchase a firearm under current Federal Laws.
If the Utah CFP Does NOT Include MD, Why Should a MD Resident Apply for this Permit? -- With this permit you will be able to carry your firearm concealed in approximately 60% of the states in the U.S.A. Therefore, if you travel a lot, whether its for work or personal, applying for this permit would be ideal.
States that Recognize the Utah CFP -- PLEASE REFER TO THE MAP BELOW! These states may change at any time. It is up to the individual permit holder to check the Utah's Bureau of Criminal Identification's website for an updated list.
Utah CFP Application Process -- 1. Utah CFP Class 2. Application Submission
Application Submission to the State of Utah (Final Step in Utah CFP Application Process) -- Applicants must mail the following documents to the state of Utah: Utah Application Form, Certification Stamp, Utah Fingerprint Card, a photocopy of their driver's license or state issued ID, one passport quality photo measuring approximately 2"x2". ($51.00 Application Fee)
Utah CFP Class Overview:
The structure and content of this class is established by the State of Utah and is mandatory for residents and non-residents applying for a Utah Concealed Firearm Permit (CFP). NO LIVE-FIRE!!
Utah CFP Class Topics:
Application Process, Firearm Safety, Situational Awareness and Applicable Law.
Utah CFP Class Length:
4+ Hours - This class is comprised of 4 hours of classroom instruction. One additional hour (may be less or more time) will be spent fingerprinting each student.
Utah CFP Class Fee:
$60.00 Per Person - The Utah Application Form, Certification Stamp, Addressed Mailing Envelope and Utah Fingerprint Card are provided for each student and included in this fee! Each student will also be fingerprinted free of charge.
PLEASE NOTE: Your Utah Concealed Firearm Permit (CFP) will be mailed to you approximately 60 days after submission. A Utah Concealed Firearm Permit (CFP) is valid for 5 years once issued.