Share Print this Page Recently Viewed

Recently Viewed Products

 
 

FAQ's

FAQ Categories

Shooting Range/ Firearm Purchases

Questions And Answers

Shooting Range/ Firearm Purchases

How many days does it take for the Maryland State paperwork to clear?

Our store policy states that it takes 10 calendar days. Please make allowances for holidays, they may delay the process.

back to top

How old do you have to be to use our facility?

You must be 18 to rent a lane and 21 to rent a firearm. If you are under the age of 21 you must be accompanied by someone over the age of 21.
 

back to top

Do you rent firearms/ Can I bring my own?

Yes, We have a wide variety of handguns to rent. Each rental is $10.00, however you must purchase ammunition from our store if you choose to rent. You may bring your own firearms, they must be checked at the counter. If you bring your own firearm you are allowed to bring in your own ammuntion.
 

back to top

How can I obtain a MD State carry permit?

While we can submit your application for purchase, all carry permit inquiries have to made directly through the state police barracks.

back to top

what calibers are approved for the rifle range

Most high powered rifles are acceptable. No 50bmg, 338lapua, steel core ammunition and/or black powder. Sales associates will check all ammunition upon arrival.

back to top

My father-in-law is coming to MD for a week. He is coming from FL. I am a MD resident with Firearms safety certificate and my own firearms. We would like to use the range, does my FIL need to do anything apart from turn up and pay?

No, that is all.

back to top

I just obtained my HQL and am interested in purchasing a P229 in .40. Do you require full payment up front or is there a payment plan where I can pay in installations (half 1 day, half the next)? Thank you!

We do have a layaway program, but we will not submit paperwork until the gun is paid for fully.

back to top

I plan to come and test rifles. If I do can I bring a handgun to fire while firing a rifle or is it strictly just rifle/shotgun?

Rifles, Shotguns and Pistols can all be shot on the Rifle/Shotgun lanes.

back to top

I never shoot a gun before. Would I be able to rent a firearm and practice on the range

Yes you may come and Test & Evaluare our firearms.

back to top

If I have both a rifle and a hand gun, can i just rent 1 lane (say a rifle lane) to shoot both?

Yes, you may shoot both guns on the Rifle/Shotgun Lanes.

back to top

Hello, I bought the groupon and will be bringing my husband for a day for what was included. Do I need to make a reservation? We are not Maryland residents. Do we need to complete any paperwork prior? Or just show up day of. Thanks. Whitney

We do not take reservations. The range is first come, first serve. All you need is a valid drivers license/state issued I.D. and credit or debit card (visa or mastercard). We hold on to the card while you are using our gun as a second form of identification.

back to top

A friend of mine in WV has a handgun that I would like to purchase. Can I submit the application through your facility and have the gun brought in through your FFL? I am retired military

We need to know the make and model of the gun. If it is legal in Maryland, you may have it transferred to us. The transfer fee is $75.00.

back to top

My father in law gave me a handgun. Can you inspect it, sell me ammunition, teach me how to use it, tell me what training and license I need as a Maryland resident? Thanks!

Maryland Law requires that all transfers of ownership of a handgun must be done through the State Police or through a licensed dealer. Unless you are active or retired military or law enforcement, you must obtain a Handgun Qualification License to be able to take possesion of a handgun. Go to MDSP.org for details on the HQL or call us at 301-599-0800. We can check your handgun to see if there are any obvious defects. We stock most common handgun ammunition. We can also show you the basics of using your handgun.

back to top

Am I allowed to shoot birdshot within the range or is it strictly just slugs? Second how much would the cost be? It says 25 for the rifle lane plus an additional 10 for the second person. Does that mean $35 total or $60 total?

Yes, you may shoot birdshot. It would be $35 total for two people.

back to top

I am under the age of 18 but i am planning to attend with people older who are able to rent lanes and firearms, does it matter if we are related?

As long as you are accompanied by someone 21 or older at all times, you may use our facility. They do not have to be related to you.

back to top

If I'm 18, and have my own firearm, can I still rent my own lane, and buy your ammo/bring my own without the need of someone over the age of 21 accompanying me?

If you are 18 the only ammunition you may purchase is for a rifle, not a handgun. You may rent a lane.

back to top

My husband and I want to go to the range. We will have to take his 13 years old son. We were wondering if he will be allow to be in the range. And if we will be allow to shoot with the presence of his dad? Or at least just be admitted inside.thanks

Yes, as long as he is accompanied by someone 21 or older at all times he may shoot.

back to top

What pistols are available for rental for the range? I am interested in the P220 and P226 .40...do you have those available for rental?

Yes, we have a P226 .40S&W and a P220 .45ACP.

back to top

If I'm 18, and have my own firearm, I know that I can rent a lane and buy rifle/shotgun ammo, What I want to know is if I can be on the lane by myself without someone over the age of 21. Thanks

Yes, you may.

back to top

Are you allowed towear holsters in the range?

Strong side holsters only. No shoulder, cross draw or small of the back holsters.

back to top

You say "If you are under 21 must be accompanied by someone over the age of 21." and you also say "if I can be on the lane by myself without someone over the age of 21. Yes, you may."if im 18 do i still need to be accompanied by someone who is 21?

If you are shooting on the Rifle/Shotgun Side, you have to be accompanied by someone 21 or older if you are using our firearm.

back to top

Are Pregnant ladies allowed in and are they able to use your facilities?

We suggest you contact your physician first.

back to top

Beretta semi shotguns. Are there any left? What's the MD process for a VA resident?

Yes. You would have to bring in your VA Driver's License and a second form of government I.D. such as a voter's registration card or vehicle registration. You would then fill out the federal form and we will call it in for an instant check.

back to top

I purchased a handgun in Maryland 23 days ago. I would like to purchase another handgun and wanted to know if I could do it today and wait the 7 day screening period and take possession on the 30th day to meet the 30 day MD law sales requirement?

You can submit an application 23 days from the date you take possession (NOT Purchase).

back to top

I am an international student studying in Maryland , 23 years old and want to learn on your range. What id will you require. I have my passport . what training course will you advise me . thanks

Bring in your passport and credit card and we will go over everything that you need to know.

back to top

First time shooting. My wife and I want to "test & eval" a light, low cal, pistol. Monday is her birthday. What's the best time to come in on Monday to likely get a lane

The range is open from 12pm-8pm. Any time during those hours should be fine.

back to top

When bringing our own firearm, do we need to have registration, paperwork etc...? Thanks

No.

back to top

Is it OK to shoot buckshot from a shotgun on the rifle range?

Yes.

back to top

Hi - the hql classes state $20. This is just a informative class, no shooting lessons? Is this what the MD State Police require for the application for hql? Thanks.

At the end of class there is a shooting lesson and this is the class that the MD state police require for the  application.

back to top

Do you have a list of the handguns that are available to rent?

Yes. Below is the link to view all the hanguns our customers can test and evaluate.

http://www.msar.com/testandevaluationguns/

back to top

Can I shoot a 30-06 on your rifle range?

Yes. However, if the magnet attracts the bullet tips then you will be unable to shoot this firearm at our range.

back to top

What does the $20.00 HQL class cover? Is there any other cost associated to get my HQL? Do I have to pay for the range training.

The HQL class is required if you are interested in purchasing a firearm. The class covers how to properly handle and shoot a firearm, the application process regarding information necessary to fulfill the states requirements, etc. The course does include a live-fire on the range. You must get fingerprinted and this is not included in the course. You can get your fingerprints taken at Hughes Barney Investigations, LLC and it will cost $62.00. After the course and after you been fingerprinted you will only have 72 hours to send in your HQL application to the Maryland State Police. It will cost an additional $50.00 to send your HQL application to the MSP. This can be done on the MSP website  www.mdsp.org

back to top

I live in Va and want to bring my own firearms and ammo and use a lane. Do I need any special paperwork or permits to do so?

There is no special paperwork or permits to shoot at our range if you are an out of state resisdent.

back to top

The ammunition that I buy at the range can u keep it upon leaving

Yes.

back to top

Can a person use the range if they do not have a HQL

Yes.

back to top

What's the max range of your longest lane? I want to sight in my new rifle sights.

50 yards.

back to top

Hello,I was wondering if you allow Tulammo at your range? They are lead core but the bullets ARE magnetic.

No. Bullets that are magnetic are not allowed to be shot at our facility.

back to top

I am visiting from Ireland in 2 weeks time for 3 days to visit family, is it possible to come by, or is there anything I would need to do before visiting?

You do not need to do anything before you come to our range. Just be sure to bring a valid form of identification, i.e. passport and a debit or credit card. We hold both of these items while you are on the range, and we will return them to you when you are done.

back to top

if you have a felony charge are ypu able to be in the gun range and be allowed to attend the classes and training

By Law if you are a convicted felon and restricted from being around or operating firearms then it would be strongly advised not to use our facility

back to top

Once you pay the daily fee, can you leave the range and come back or would you have to pay again?

Yes, you can leave the range and come back if you present your receipt as proof that you have already paid the daily range fee.

back to top

Is Drawing from a stong side holster allowed at your facility? I'm a USPSA shooter, and would like to be able to do some indoor draw practice, in the winter weather.

Yes, law enforcement ONLY is allowed to practice draw shooting from a holster

back to top

Can you shot 6.5 creedmoor rounds on the rifle range?

Yes

 

back to top

Can't find what you are looking for?

Click here to ask your own question.