There are many laws regulating the sale of firearms at both a State and National level. In Maryland, there are two broad categories of firearms: regulated and non-regulated. Our team will guide you through the proccess of purchasing both categories of firearms while abiding by Federal and Maryland State regulation.
*To make the buying process as easy as possible, please review the following information before you purchase a firearm:
Documentation / License Requirements:
*Must be Presented to Dealer Upon Purchasing!*
-If purchasing a Regulated Firearm (Electronically) - Your Application Number and Unique PIN
-Maryland Handgun Qualification License (HQL) or HQL Exemption Documentation
-Valid Driver's License or State Issued ID
-Change of Address Card (If Applicable)
-Military or Police ID & Orders (If Applicable)
-Maryland Concealed Handgun Permit (If Applicable)
Non-Regulated Firearm Sale:
*Most Shotguns and Rifles!*
By National Law, applicants must be 18 years of age or older to purchase a non-regulated firearm.
*Process to Purchase: During the time of purchase, applicants must complete a single form (ATF 4473) and must pass a NICS (instant) background check, made by phone. A non-regulated firearm sale will forgo the Maryland State Police background check and 7-day waiting period.
Regulated Firearm Sale:
*Most Handguns, Revolvers and Lower Receivers!*
Process to Purchase:
 Unless exempt, one must possess a valid Handgun Qualification License (HQL), issued by the Maryland State Police to purchase, rent or receive a regulated firearm. For more information on the HQL, CLICK HERE.
 One must complete a MSP 77R Application and Affidavit. Effective 1/1/2017, the paper 77R Application and Affidavit to purchase a regulated firearm will no longer be accepted. MSP will now be accepting the 77R-E, an electronic Application and Affidavit to purchase a regulated firearm, which can only be completed via MSP's online Licensing Portal.
At MSAR, we have added 2 computer systems to our lobby which are available to those using the online Licensing Portal to purchase a regulated firearm. However, if you would like to use the Licensing Portal at home, please refer to the following instructions:
Prior to purchasing a regulated firearm and beginning your 77R-E Application, you must create an account on the MSP Licensing Portal using a valid email address ---> licensingportal.mdsp.maryland.gov Once you have created your account, you will be able to login to start your Application to purchase a regulated firearm. Upon submission of your Application, you will receive a confirmation email containing your Application Number and Unique PIN Number. *You must bring both of these items to the dealer (MSAR) to complete the application process. During the time of purchase, we (the dealer) will complete our portion of your Application. Before final submission to MSP, you must pay a $10.00 application fee to the State via Credit/Debit Card ONLY.
After Application submission to MSP, there is a 7-day waiting period before you may take possession of the firearm being purchased. During this waiting period, the MSP Licensing Division will perform a series of background checks to determine your final disposition. On the 8th day after your Application has been submitted, you will receive an email notifying you of your final disposition. If the notification email states your final disposition is NOT DISSAPROVED, you may return to the dealer (MSAR) to take possession of your weapon. Again, your must bring your Application Number and Unique PIN in order for the dealer to complete the transaction.