Residents and non-residents must possess a valid Wear and Carry Permit before he/she may legally
wear and carry a regulated firearm (handgun) in the State of Maryland, the District of Columbia and the
Commonwealth of Virginia. The State of Maryland and the District of Columbia require all applicants to have
a “good and substantial” reason to obtain a MD and D.C. Wear and Carry Permit.
Before registering for this class, please CLICK HERE to view more information on the MARYLAND Wear and Carry Permit, including: applicant requirements and the application process.
Before registering for this class, please CLICK HERE to view more information on the DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA Wear and Carry Permit, including: applicant requirements and the application process.
Before registering for this class, please CLICK HERE to view more information on the VIRGINIA Wear and Carry Permit, including: applicant requirements and the application process.
This class is a multi-jurisdiction approved training class and a state mandated requirement for residents and non-residents who wish to apply for the initial “Wear and Carry” Permit in Maryland, D.C. or Virginia. This class is also for Armed Security Officers that need the initial firearms training required by the Maryland State Police to carry a firearm in Maryland in connection with their employment. This class is comprised of 16 hours (two, 8 hour days) of classroom instruction on the Application Process, State Firearm Law, Home Firearm Safety and Handgun Mechanisms and Operation. One additional hour (may be less or more time) on the second day of the class will be spent on the range where a Operation and Handling Demonstration will take place. This demonstration includes a live-fire component that requires each applicant to demonstrate gun safety and proficiency with a minimum score of 70% accuracy. Upon completion of this class, applicants will receive CCP Training Certificates to cover all three jurisdictions (MD, D.C. & VA).
The Wear and Carry Permit Training for CIVILIANS is valid for 2 years. Therefore, applicants must submit their Wear and Carry Permit Application within 2 years of completing this class.
The Wear and Carry Permit Training for MD ARMED SECURITY OFFICERS is valid for 1 year. Therefore, applicants must submit their Wear and Carry Permit Application within 1 year of completing this class.
PLEASE NOTE: 8 Hour RENEWAL classes are also available at MSAR! For more information on our RENEWAL classes (dates, pricing, registration) please contact our firearms instructor directly!